Bank Constanta is originated from the NGO “Constanta Foundation” which was established in 1997 by the small group of individuals with the headship of Ms Tamar Lebanidze.

In December, 2007 Constanta started its operations as Joint Stock Company (JSC); following this important change, on July 3, 2008 Constanta received the banking license from the National Bank of Georgia (NBG) and started to conduct commercial banking operations under the brand new name JSC Bank Constanta.

At that time, 67.8% of banking shares was hold by “Constanta +”, and 32.2% – by the private shareholders. In July 2010, Oikocredit, Ecumenical Development Co-operative Society U.A., came in as the first foreign shareholder of the Bank.

In May 2011, another important investment was made into Bank Constanta’s share capital – TBC Bank purchased “Constanta +” equity and acquired total 80% of bank’s share capital. Oikocredit maintained its 13% stake in the bank and the private shareholders retained 7% banking shares.

After capital increase in November 2011 TBC Bank became 83% shareholder of Bank Constanta.


Shareholder Structure:

  • 86.69% – JSC TBC Bank
  • 9.43% – Oikocredit, Ecumenical Development Co-operative Society U.A
  • 3.88% – Individual Shareholders